14 things I learned from urban fantasy

Urban fantasy is fantasy/fairy tales that takes place in modern day, but especially in an urban setting. Buffy, Grimm, and Supernatural are all examples of urban fantasy in TV shows. In books, big hitters are the Dresden Files, Mercy Thompson, and the Iron Druid series. I love the genre and hope to write in it properly. Since my list of fairytale tropes was so fun to write, I thought I’d do one for one of my other favorite genres.

Angels-Wings-Singlet-Jeans-font-b-Fantasy-b-font-Girls-font-b-urban-b-font-girl

  1. There are fairytale monsters out there. Sometimes the world knows about them. Mostly it doesn’t. The uninformed populace are easier to eat.
  2. Magic exists. Most people don’t know about it, but a few people find out they can use it, mostly when they blow something up accidentally.
  3. If you have magic, 90% of the time it will be fire-based. This is why there are so many “gas explosions” in the news.
  4. Most magical creatures dislike being burned. This is why if you have magic, fire magic is the best. Flamethrowers for the win.
  5. Werewolves can be good. Hot, even. But a lot of the time, they’ll eat your face.
  6. Vampires can be good. Hot, even. But a lot of the time, they’ll drink your blood.
  7. Zombies can be good. Hot, even. But a lot of the time, they’ll eat your brain.
  8. Fairies and elves can be good. Hot, even. But a lot of the time, they’ll make you a deal you can’t refuse and keep you a slave forever.
  9. Angels can be good. Hot, even. But a lot of the time, they’ll cost you your soul/immortality/magic power.
  10. Demons can be good. Hot, even. But a lot of the time, they’ll eat your soul, your body, your emotions, your friends, your relatives, and your dog.
  11. Any kind of magic involving spirits and the dead is usually a Bad Thing. Except when it’s not.
  12. Fairytale logic sometimes holds true (favors repaid, strange bargains kept, strange instructions followed).
  13. Night clubs are where monsters hang out and eat hot girls, usually in the inevitable alley outside.
  14. Most magic systems are pretty basic–the elements are shaped by the will. If it was good enough for Dresden, it’s good enough for you.
6 thoughts on “14 things I learned from urban fantasy

    1. I just googled “urban fantasy artwork” and it was on the list. I tried to find who made it, but it was on, like, an image dump website and I couldn’t track it.

      Like

  1. Hahah, true. I love the mix of sci-fi be it modern or futuristic with all the fantasy critters I can muster. The best of all worlds and I don’t have to be “accurate” to history, I can just cherry pick as I please.

    I’m a bit on a pause concerning how to render supernatural powers and dynamics in my fiction because I’m kind of learning some in real life with my faith walk and I want to articulate it creatively to others. I was drawn away from my old way of creating and processing and I’m learning a new flow. I want to have fun with it and also have it give true revelation and insight to how things really work on the other side. So, I’m WIP in this area which is why my projects have been on the back burner. I want to have fun with my work but I also want to find that balance and communicate glory too.

    We shall see 😉

    Happy creating!

    Like

Leave a Reply

