When chickens turn evil (or just hungry)

Once upon a time, I had chickens.

We raised them in our backward, and they laid eggs for us. One of my favorites was an Arucana (Easter Egg) chicken named Benadictine, after another chicken story from Readers Digest. She laid olive-green eggs, and she was a stinker.

One time my brother and I had let the chickens out on the lawn. He went and made himself a ham sandwich.

chicken-story1

Benadictine wanted that ham.

chicken-story2

So she sneaked up on him …

chicken-story3

… and pecked the ham out from between the slices of bread.

My brother was not happy.

chicken-story4

He stormed inside and made himself another sandwich. Meanwhile, I laughed myself silly.

Benadictine ate that whole slice of ham, and was very happy about it.

2 thoughts on “When chickens turn evil (or just hungry)”

Leave a Reply

