First day of autumn

It’s the first day of autumn, finally! Living in Arizona, and temperature below 100 is something to celebrate.

image-e1443022016422

For the past few days, we’ve had a big storm system passing through. It’s rained and flooded everywhere but Phoenix (the kids were so disappointed). Last night we had a decent thunderstorm, though, and it cooled off a lot. It probably got down in the 70s, even! 😀

So we had the weird experience of opening all the windows, but keeping the AC running, because the house was still too warm.

image1

Autumn wallpaper from InterfaceLIFT

Today for school we’re doing a baking day. I read on a homeschooling blog about a gal who incorporated cooking into her curriculum, and I thought it was a great idea. Cooking is a survival skill, useful in all areas of life. So this morning I handed my eldest two my Betty Crocker cookbook and told them, “Pick something out.”

I’d initially figured that they’d go for cookies, but they want a cake. Yellow cake, chocolate frosting, two layers, the works. I figure that it will be very educational. And it’ll be delicious afterward!

4 thoughts on “First day of autumn”

  1. Hey your blog looks Great!!
    I loved all of the pictures. I think baking is a good skill for all children to learn. Not to mention it is great to have helpers in the kitchen. I am so glad it cooled off for you. Well I guess we all got pitched a shut out on this last storm. My friend in San Diego got zip. My friend in Utah didn’t get anything and of course we didn’t even get clouds.
    I am glad you got some rain last night.
    Have a lovely day.

    Like

  2. Happy Autumn! 😄

    It’s rainy here in SoFlo in the 80s-90s.

    I like the idea of having your kids do cooking. That’s essentially home economics! Not only is it a survival skill, they could also learn how to make a balanced meal and food presentation for hospitality purposes 🙂 I remember I was graded on presentation when I was in school in Jamaica (we’re pretty British, lol).

    Like

Leave a Reply

