Gluten free–more or less

My hubby and I have been dealing with some health problems lately. I’m anemic and my thyroid is a bit hypo, while my hubby would like to lose some weight.

We’ve been taking Dr. Wallach’s Tangy Tangerine 2.0, and seen dramatic improvements to our health–more energy, higher sex drive, elimination of some other problems, like memory going blank at odd moments. Yet these other issues persist. So we started digging in to what we needed to do.

I was pointed to Dr. Glidden, another health and supplements expert, who has a list of foods to eat, and foods not to eat.

Bad foods are:

Wheat
Barley
Rye
Oats, oatmeal – even if it says that it is Gluten Free.
Fried Food
Oils—cooking or salad. Yes, this includes olive oil and coconut oil!!!
Well done red meat (rare or medium-rare is ok!)
Deli Meat / processed meats, any nitrates added to meat – tell your butcher NO NITRATES
Soda / carbonated beverages near or with mealtime
Skin of a baked potato (or yam, or sweet potato). If you boil a potato, you can eat the skins.

Good foods are:

Eggs—soft scrambled in butter, soft boiled, poached
Butter & Lard (rendered animal fat)
Salt
Fish, Chicken, Pork, Lamb
Beef—rare/medium rare
Veggies
Fruit
Mixed, Salted Nuts—no peanuts
Nut Butters—no added sugar & no peanuts
Couscous made from pearl millet only.
Pure Buckwheat (Isn’t wheat).
Beans, lentils and legumes
Rice, Millet, Corn & Quinoa
Coffee, Tea, Green tea, Red wine.
4-8, 8oz glasses of filtered water each day. Avoid soft plastic bottles.

Vegetables, by Elina Mark, via Wikimedia Commons
Vegetables, by Elina Mark, via Wikimedia Commons

There’s more details here. Anyway, as you can see, there’s far more good foods to eat than bad foods. (Who doesn’t love a diet high in fats, protein, and cholesterol?)

So this week we’ve gone off gluten. The funny thing is, neither of us really like bread anyway. We’re partial to cookies and desserts now and then, but we don’t really like sandwiches or toast. Both of those are merely delivery vehicles for the condiments and filling, anyway.

Instead of toast, we have a cup of cottage cheese or yogurt alongside our morning eggs. Often I’ll add a spoonful of homemade jam to the yogurt/cottage cheese, or top it with fresh fruit or frozen blueberries. That’s been our standby for a long time. It never occurred to us that it was gluten free.

This week, instead of the sandwich I usually pack in my husband’s luch, I’ve just broiled a steak or a chicken breast, cut it up, and put it in his lunch with a fork. I also add diced cheese (our favorites are cheddar and Gouda), grapes or berries, and a handful of almonds. He says it’s extremely filling and takes a while to eat.

For dinner I’ve been making things like Shepherd’s Pie, Beef and Broccoli (stir-fried in water), Taco-rubbed chicken tenders topped with guacamole, beef stew, and tacos in corn tortillas.

We’ve decided to splurge on frozen yogurt this weekend, but even that is gluten free (I think). Sugar free? Hardly! I know sugar is on the list of things to avoid, but all things in moderation, right?

Really, it’s a pretty simple diet, and we were mostly eating it anyway, due to my personal dislike of bread products. It’s not paleo, it’s not diabetic, it’s not anything else I can easily find recipes for. Paleo doesn’t allow dairy, for instance, and diabetic revels in the grains. So much gluten-free is also egg and dairy-free, so I’ve been wading through this strange wonderland of bizarre recipes full of even more bizarre ingredients. And all of them are freakishly expensive.

So I’m figuring out ways to eat gluten free (and get full) on the cheap. Anybody else following a diet like this? Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “Gluten free–more or less”

  1. We are also taking the Tangy Tangerine 2.0 as part of the Healthy Start Pak and seeing similar health improvements in energy, my blood pressure now normal, and elimination of my wife’s hot flashes due to menopause. I just recently found the Dr. Glidden 10 bad foods video and we are also starting to make similar changes. My struggle is finding a replacement for oil in salad dressing, since I have a salad most days for lunch. We found some pretty tasty gluten free bread at Vons that has raisins in it, and I have 3 – 4 eggs for breakfast every morning. I’ve added iodized sea salt back to my cooking and what a difference it makes, everything just tastes better, I didn’t know how much I had missed salt. I think balance is the key, taking small steps that point in the same direction will take you far down the road to health.

    Like

    1. When the first of the month hits, I’m going to Whole Foods to see if I can find some raw sea salt, with all the minerals still in it. I have no idea how much it costs, but I know it’s very “foodie”. I’ve also been reading about Phytates (anti nutrients in grains, legumes, and nuts), and how you shouldn’t take your Tangy within two hours of eating, say, beans. Also dark green veggies, like kale, have this powerful stuff in them called oxalates that you have to be careful of. (That’s what makes dark greens bitter.) They just say to vary your diet. Variety, variety is key!

      Like

Leave a Reply

