Vitamins sharply reduced my morning sickness?

I heard about this vitamin complex stuff a month or so ago–Beyond Tangy Tangerine 2.0, by a guy named Dr. Wallach. Apparently he’s a vet who’s done animal studies for years of how common degenerative diseases (like arthritis) are actually caused by vitamin or mineral deficiency.

I got online and tried to debunk him, but people can only complain about some of his methods, and that he sells expensive vitamins. There’s a huge, huge number of people online talking about how this stuff cured this and that oddball ailment. And really, a lot of his science matches up with Weston Price, whose work I’m a big fan of.

So, having some Amazon gift card credit left over from Christmas, I ordered a container of the stuff.

It’s a powder that you mix with water. So the taste is … not horrible, but not exactly delicious. My hubby and I tried it a few times and noticed an immediate burst of energy, but then I found out I was pregnant. Then morning sickness set in.

Oh man, did it. I haven’t been this sick since my first kid. There’s been nights that I crawled into bed at 7 and went to sleep, just to make the nausea stop. I barf before every meal–pretty much any time I get hungry.

I’ve been taking my regular prenatal vitamins at night before bed, because that’s when I’m most likely to keep them down. But then I got to thinking about that expensive vitamin powder sitting in the fridge. It has more stuff in it than my prenatal, so as long as I matched the dose, it should be okay.

Here’s the label on the thing. Click to enlarge.

BTT-2pt0-Citrus-Peach-Fusion_trifold-brochure-0613-2b

My prenatal has everything on the left column, except for the magnesium and the pantothenic acid. On the right side is all the trace stuff normal vits don’t have: selenium, copper, chromium, and potassium. Since I’m taking a half dose, it’s really very tiny, tiny amounts.

The morning after I took my first shot, I woke up with no morning sickness. Zero. I felt a tiny bit of nausea in the afternoon, but I ate a snack and it went away.

Thinking it was an anomaly, I did it again. Second day. No nausea, except a tiny bit in the afternoon, when I had been so mega-sick before.

Today’s day three. No nausea, except in the afternoon. I’m starting to think that there might be something to this particular mix of vitamins and minerals. My regular prenatals don’t touch morning sickness.

So, is morning sickness caused by a vitamin or mineral deficiency?

In trying to research this, I’ve come across two schools of thought. One is that nobody knows what causes morning sickness. Another is that the different hormones cause your digestive tract to slow down, making you sick.

Mommypotamus swears that morning sickness is a magnesium deficiency. After three days of massively huge turnaround, I’m inclined to agree with her. I know my body is lacking in all kinds of things after having four other kids, and also not having the greatest diet in the world. Would I see the same results with a cheaper magnesium supplement? Or is it this particular mix of vitamins and minerals?

Whatever it is, I’m going to keep taking this stuff. I LIKE not upchucking every single day.

5 thoughts on “Vitamins sharply reduced my morning sickness?

  1. I am so glad that this works. Dad and I keep asking ourselves, is this just us are we imagining this or is this real. I know how sick you have been, and if it can make your morning sickness going away then I think it is worth it.
    It is really something that is remarkable.

    Like

    1. I’ve been consistently not sick! I wanted to record this for posterity, in case things change, and I can come back and see what I was doing.

      Like

    1. That Mommypotmas article says to stock up on your magnesium when you’re not pregnant, because the hormones interfere with absorption. Get thyself some pills! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

