Glorious Sonic Boom concept art post, and step by step matte painting

So I’ve been playing Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric lately. And this game is so gorgeous, it makes my crusty artist’s heart sing. Check out some of this concept art:

sega-sonicboom-concept

sonicboom-concept-art2large

Aknp7sM

Arent’t they wonderful? As a Sonic fan from the mid-90s, seeing this kind of treatment makes me sooooo happy. I’ve been playing it, and the world is massively intriguing. Kind of civilization built on top of a previous, advanced civilization, only the modern day people are slowly recovering the old technology.

Anyway, I had to make a stab at drawing something like this, myself. It’s time for a matte painting!

Note: A true matte painting is made with photos. This is what they typically look like.

Dubrovnik Matte Painting

Since I’m an utter noob, I just painted over a free render from deviantart.

So! Here’s the render I started with.

knuckles-ruins-prog1
As you can see, a fairly serviceable render. It’s just called Jungle Ruins.

 

knuckles-ruins-prog2
Here I painted in the background. I started with just a lot of vertical strokes of light and dark green. Then I darkened the trees, and used a lot of Photoshop texture brushes to suggest foilage, moss, vines, all that messy jungle stuff.

 

knuckles-ruins-prog3
I painted in the characters in various stages, as I worked out the light direction, and how they were going to interact with their environment. The statue was tricky, because it had to match the background as much as possible. I painted it with rough, messy Photoshop brushes to get that stony, mossy texture.

 

knuckles-ruins-prog4
Now for all the foreground leaves and plants. This helps the bottom of the render to blend into the jungle. I could have done more on this, but I was just experimenting. My next will be better. Anyway, the arch above the statue, in particular, got lots of moss and vines, and leaves catching the light. Lots of moss hanging from the vines.

 

knuckles-ruins-prog5
Beams of light for the win! This was when I added the highlights on the characters and statue, because I knew how strong the light was supposed to be, and what color it was.

 

knuckles-ruins-prog6
I made a new layer, flood filled it with blue green, and set the layer setting to Soft Light. Makes a nice green cast over everything. You could achieve this same effect in physical media with a blue green wash.

 

knuckles-ruins-prog7
Last was a lot of little details, like the circuitry on the statue, implying that it’s waking up in the presence of people. Gotta have a story in the picture, you know?

And there you go! Painting this was basically like eating candy, only afterward, instead of having a sick stomach, I had a piece of artwork. Score!

I can’t wait to try more paintings like this, only, you know, spend more time and make them far more awesome.

3 thoughts on “Glorious Sonic Boom concept art post, and step by step matte painting

  1. Ooh, I saw that on your DeviantART. It’s absolutely gorgeous. Makes me want to write my old Sonic fanfictions again.

    Oops. Hello, Miss Netraptor. Long-time fan of your work here.

    Like

      1. The artwork gives me so much inspiration, yes. The cartoon makes me a little sad though. Knuckles has been established to be really smart and protective, but he just seems like a meathead. It just doesn’t seem fair.

        Like

Leave a Reply

