Dry days

This is the third day this week that our water has been turned off. It’s gone up and down intermittently since Sunday night, when there was no hot water–then it was off Monday, and a long stretch Tuesday.

The kids working on art stuff.
The kids working on art stuff.

Today we at least we were notified that it was going to be switched off. It’s amazing how much you take running water for granted. Simple things like washing hands or flushing a toilet become much more difficult and epic. I begin pondering things like hauling buckets of water from the swimming pool.

Things like cooking become epic, too. I never thought about how much water I use doing daily things. For instance, I was going to go make cookies–until I realized that I wouldn’t be able to wash any dishes. The horror! I’ll wait until the water comes back on.

But it does make me think about how easily civilized life is disrupted. If the power or water goes off, what do we do? Do we have an emergency plan in place? I think after this, I’m going to stash a few gallons of drinking water around. And canned foods–things that we could eat in the event of a catastrophic power failure.

I’m also so thankful that our infrastructure holds up as well as it does. Water failure is the exception, not the rule. I’m so thankful we have a mild climate, and this is happening in January, not August.

In other news, I’m so thankful that it’s Friday! It’s been a long, busy week.

3 thoughts on “Dry days

  1. I would have just made the cookies anyways, and washed them later. 😉

    If you have access to your water heater, it holds quite a bit of water enough for a day or two of emergency. Also, the tank of the toilet would hold enough for a simple sponge bath/sanitary washing. And if you get enough warning you can fill up the bath tub to have water for washing too. We’ve never been without water, but I do love when the power goes out! 🙂 I think stashing some gallons of water is a good idea for us too!

    Like

  2. My family-in-law fills the tub with buckets of water during an outage so they can flush toilets – pouring water into a toilet will cause it to flush automatically, I learned. Maybe that isn’t news to you, but it was news to me! 😀 What a nuisance! I hope your water problems are solved soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

