A look at my personal indiepub stats in 2014

It’s the end of my first year of being self-published, or indie published, which is the hip term. This past year I’ve released three titles–two novels and a novella. Here’s how it fell out:

Nov 2013 – Storm Chase

February 2014 – Turned

September 2014 – Chronocrime

November 2014 – Wraithblade

I also put Storm Chase through a major revision in the July/August area.

The first half of the year was pretty dry in terms of sales, but I sold at least one book per month. It was more like two or three. Once Chronocrime hit, sales rose a little–I started having about five sales a month. When Wraithblade hit, it rose to about ten sales a month.

I made about 40 bucks this year, all told. I’m very happy with it–I went into the game expecting to make zero. Anything more than that is gravy!

I wish I could crank these out faster. It usually takes me 2-3 months for a first draft. Then another month to get it beta-read, and another month to apply deep rewrites (if I’m that fast). I had a big gap between February and September, because I was chewing through major rewrites of Chronocrime. (I changed one of the villains from male to female, which changed the entire emotional resonance of the book).

I’d wanted Wraithblade to launch in October, but revisions on that wound up taking two months, instead of just one. I had to add a bunch of extra scenes and conflicts, and follow the logic threads better.

So, next year, I’m going to try to do one novella and two novels again. Here’s the plan:

A sequel to Turned, called the Bramblewood Werebear.

The first book of a paranormal romance trilogy, called Malevolent.

(Malevolent and Werebear are currently going up on Wattpad for critique purposes. I’ve done it with my other books, and got them good and shredded by the target audience.)

The fourth book of the Spacetime series, tentatively called Spellweaver.

Basically, I’m moving forward with two existing series, and starting a new one. Gotta try different genres and see what sells, you know? The lightning has a bigger chance of striking if I have a bunch of lightning rods out there waiting.

I know a lot of people out there are gnashing their teeth about the state of indie publishing. But all these stories are things I’d write anyway, because it’s fun. If I make a few bucks, that’s cool. Mostly, though, I’d like to make friends with folks who like my stories.

It’s why I’m currently scribbling out a fanfic that my Sonic peeps on deviantart requested. But fanfics don’t factor in to my publishing quota. 🙂

3 thoughts on “A look at my personal indiepub stats in 2014

  1. I am so proud of you!! I love that you are living a dream, you are doing what you set out to do and you are happy, which means more to me than money. I love that you just love what you do.
    I look forward to reading more of your Turned story.
    I think you accomplished so much in 2014.

    Like

Leave a Reply

