Christmas and other lunacies

Can you believe we’re already to December 10th? The mind boggles! Wasn’t Thanksgiving last weekend?

… Maybe I should throw out those leftovers.

We put up our Christmas tree this weekend, and it’s made our living room so festive. The kids play with it constantly. It’s just a fake tree, so they’re always rearranging the branches and messing with the ornaments. We have wood and plastic ornaments, so it’s one hundred percent kid-friendly.

One silly kid, one kid fussing about having to have her picture taken.
One silly kid, one kid fussing about having to have her picture taken.

Beyond that, I’m always at a loss as to how to make Christmas special. I’d love to do Advent, but by the time I think about buying supplies, it’s December 10th. This is the first year we’ve had money to buy presents for the kids, and I forgot how fun/overwhelming Christmas shopping is. The hardest thing is keeping the results a secret. I want to give them their presents immediately, you know?

My hubby just got made full time at his job, so we’ve been pretty excited about that. Just waiting for the paperwork to finish up. He hasn’t had a good full-time job since we got married. God’s really been good to us. We’ve lived hand to mouth for so many years, we’re flabbergasted at the idea of actually having money. We can do things like order pizza.

We’ve had a really laid back school year, what with babysitting a four year old five days a week. But they’re all making progress in their reading and writing, and I’m very satisfied. We’ve also enthusiastically studied the solar system and space all year, owing to my son’s excitement. I’ve also read aloud to them every night, which I think has helped a lot. This week the boy I’m babysitting has suddenly improved in his reading skills–he’s struggled all year with the basics, so I had scaled back and was letting him grow a bit. It’s heartening to see a little one make that jump forward.

Are you really getting into this Christmas season? Or are you like me, and feel like a Christmas noob?

2 thoughts on “Christmas and other lunacies

  1. What a lovely blog. I am so excited for you and it makes me so happy to see all that God has done and is doing. Yep, that buying presents and wanting to just give them instead of waiting has always been so very hard for me.
    I am so glad that you are having a wonderful Christmas this year. I am so glad L. is making progress on his reading. That is good. I am so glad your class room loves the Solar System.
    It sounds wonderful, I am so proud of you.

    Like

  2. I think I’m getting into the Christmas season more this year…although I’ve been slow on decorating. I finally got around to putting up some more garlands and little decorations today after several weeks of having the boxes up from the basement. I like doing advent calendars with my kids – my mom did that with us for years – so we’ve been doing that, and the kids are loving it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

