Chewing on second Spacetime book

Well, I finished the fifth draft of the second Spacetime book Sunday, and shipped it off to my beta readers. I’m expecting all kinds of remarks like, “This is good, but you know that one part where …” Or, for heaven’s sake, “So, time for draft six?”

I’ve been fooling around with the cover, and so far it looks like this:

chronocrime-cover-mockup2

It’s still kind of clip-arty, but it’s headed in the right direction. I’m going to chew on it some more.

Last week I pushed very hard to finish that draft, and this week, my brain is going to rest. I didn’t realize how tired I was, until I ran across this passage in Hebrews 12:

So then, brace up and reinvigorate and set right your slackened and weakened and drooping hands and strengthen your feeble and palsied and tottering knees, And cut through and make firm and plain and smooth, straight paths for your feet [yes, make them safe and upright and happy paths that go in the right direction], so that the lame and halting [limbs] may not be put out of joint, but rather may be cured.

In other words, REST, FOO.

So this week, I’m resting from my work by doing other work. Today we had a very nice school day. Tomorrow I’m declaring Teacher In Service, and the kids are going to help me make mass quantities of strawberry jam. Home Ec, right?

Leave a Reply

