Babysitting trials

20140807-075950.jpg

I’ve been babysitting a four year old boy for more than a month now. He’s here ten hours a day, five days a week.

Today I woke up exhausted and was trying to figure out why. Then it dawned on me. Oh! I’ve been working a job. On top of my own four kids, housework, meals, and starting homeschool this week.

The kids have played a lot, though. It’s been good for my son, who has been surrounded by sisters all his life, to have another boy to play with. They rough house and gang up on the girls, and play Minecraft together.

Even though it’s only August, there’s a tiny bit of coolness in the air in the early morning. It’s like nature is tired of the heat. It’s only been 103 this week, with no humidity, which has been such a nice break. The trees are all droopy and their leaves are burned.

When it got up to 115, the eucalyptus trees started losing their branches. Big heavy branches, usually at night. Or when the wind blows after it’s been very hot. I don’t know the science behind it, but its interesting.

2 thoughts on “Babysitting trials

  1. That is very interesting that the limbs start falling off.
    I knew you had a job but I didn’t know it was for 10 hour days five days a week. I also didn’t know you were starting school this week.
    Wow, what a hard schedule. We have humidity.
    I hope you get a little down time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

