Homeschooling ponderings

It’s monsoon season in Arizona. It’s cloudy and hot and muggy. The cicadas are going full blast, and the pool is closed half the time because of extreme overuse.

The kids have caught their usual midsummer cold. You know in the winter, how people huddle together indoors and share germs? Same thing when it’s so hot. At least it’s not ear infections!

I’m gearing up to start school in a few more weeks. My mom loaned me the first volume of the Mystery of History, and I’m so excited. This is the year I’ll get my girls reading, and things will be so much more fun.

I’ve been reading about the Charlotte Mason teaching method. Aside from narration (repeating back something you learned), which I think is cool, there’s this other thing I noticed. For younger kids, you do everything in 20 minute chunks. 20 minutes of math, spelling, etc. It’s like you harness their ADD!

Also people say over and over that if you do nothing else, read the classics aloud. I’m pondering which ones to start with. I have my favorites, but some are harder than others to read!

So yeah, just pondering educational things.

3 thoughts on “Homeschooling ponderings

  1. My mom was big into Charlotte Mason when she was homeschooling us. We read a lot of classics. πŸ™‚

    That’s a good idea about 20 minutes at a time. My son is super high-energy and I’m already stressing about homeschooling him in a couple of years!

    Like

  2. How in the world did I ever miss that? What a good way to teach boys. Girls who don’t like to sit.
    How about Owls at Home. You know we never made it upstairs to Williams bookshelf. That is on there.
    What is the first person in they Mystery of History? I would start there. I love pondering school things. That is the one thing I really miss about being finished.
    It is horribly hot here today and we won’t get a light show. Have a nice day.

    Like

  3. Bethany: If you read him books, and do colors/shapes/numbers/animal sounds, and so on, you’re already homeschooling. πŸ™‚ There’s this great reading curriculum called Teach Your Child To Read In 100 Easy Lessons, and it’s amazing. You can start that any time. In fact, the book recommends doing it before the kid knows the names of the letters, because it’s better to start with the sounds anyway.

    Mom: The first few weeks on Mystery, it’s Creation, Noah, and Dinosaurs. I’m jazzed about getting to do school about dinosaurs. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

