The souls of supernatural monsters

20140616-131843.jpg

In the first Twilight book, Edward and Bella have an intriguing conversation.

Edward believes that as soon as a person becomes a vampire, their soul is lost forever. Therefore he’s trying to get back into God’s good graces by only drinking animal blood, and being a “good vampire”.

It’s a very short convo, but it sets up Edward’s worry about Bella–that turning her into a vampire will cost her her soul.

This question is never answered. Bella is turned and they live happily ever after–but what about their souls?

I read all four books, hoping the story would address it on a deeper level, but it never did. So I guess I have to.

What is a soul, anyway? I’ve seen a lot of explanations.

The soul is the software that runs your hardware, like a computer’s operating system.

OR

The soul is the personality and memory, the spirit is the animal life that makes the heart pump, and the mind is the physical brain.

More or less.

All we know is that we have a slice of immortality in us that struggles with the body’s fleshly cravings. Heaven and Hell are only accessed once our mortal lives end. God and eternity await.

But in fantasy, there’s this huge gray area. What about monsters who supposedly have no soul? Like vampires, or werewolves, or zombies?

I’ve mused on werewolves before. I’ve figured out what each kind of monster represents to me:

Vampire: decay of the soul

Werewolf: decay of the mind

Zombie: decay of the body

But the Twilight question remains. Can a person truly lose their soul? What are the repercussions of a person having their soul removed? Does the soulless state make them into a monster, or were they a monster before that?

I have a character who was a Christian before his soul was removed. As this story heads into revisions, I’m musing on what, exactly, this means, spiritually. Is he considered dead? Has he been proverbially snatched out of his Father’s hand, meaning he’s automatically damned?

Is he cut off from his spiritual side, and operating entirely in the flesh? Or would some grace remain?

He’s not a vampire, and his soul is still around–it’s just not in his body anymore. The object of the game is to get his soul back.

But I don’t know. What do you think?

4 thoughts on “The souls of supernatural monsters

  1. Well, there’s John 10:28-29: “I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.”

    I think if a character lost “access” to their soul they would become like an animal. They’d have instincts, emotions, feelings and moral values maybe, but they’d lose a lot of what made them human. But I don’t think they could be eternally lost. Either their soul was never going to be lost forever (King Nebuchadnezzar is a good example of that – see Daniel 4), or minimally they’d still be saved when they died.

    Interesting topic!

    Like

  2. All I can say is Wow!!! That was really well thought out.
    I was just rereading Twilight the other day pondering this.
    I hate admitting it. 🙂
    My thinking is this, Jesus says in John 14:6 I am the way, the truth and the life and no one comes to the Father except by Me. I believe that there is no sin so great as to be unforgivable except that of rejecting Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior.
    If Edward, before he became a vampire, believed in the shed blood of Jesus, then was bitten and became a vampire, it had nothing to do with his choice but the choice of others. I personally think, that is why God put the angel in the garden so that Adam and Eve couldn’t eat of the tree of life, so they wouldn’t live eternally in a fallen state. Vampires are only fantasy. If think about it you have to put it in the same category as Tuck Everlasting. Why would you want too? It made for a interesting story, but personally, I think Bella should have chose to die.

    Like

  3. Bethany: My hubby pointed out that if he was saved, then God would own his soul, no matter where his soul happened to be located. I like that. 🙂

    Kim: I think Bella should have chosen to die, too, but in the end, was she given any choice, when she was actually dying? Although, come to think of it, as much as she’d wanted to be a vamp, I suppose she’d made her choice long before.

    I do wish Twilight had dealt with the spiritual side a little more. It was fascinating!

    Like

  4. I thought that in the book Carlisle disagreed with Edward about whether they lost their soul by becoming vampires – and that put it to rest. Edward believed one way – Carlisle believed another…and the only way to find out was to die completely…kind of like every other religious argument.

    Like

Leave a Reply

