Interview with Robert Penner

Last week, Robert Penner gracious interviewed me on his blog Pennerstories. Since he has an interesting fantasy book, I thought I’d return the favor! It’s always fun to get to know a new author.

robert-penner

1. Welcome, Robert! Tell us a little about yourself.

First of all, thanks for hosting me. I work in broadcast transmission for a living, am married with one daughter, and live in beautiful California. I enjoy reading fantasy, watching fantasy, and writing fantasy.

2. What got you started on writing?

I began writing in 2004, although I had written a lot of poetry prior to that. One day I discovered a really fun podcast called The Dragon Page Cover to Cover and all they talked about was the world of writing in Fantasy and SciFi. One of my favorite authors (Michael A. Stackpole) was a co-host (that is how I discovered him) and he was on the inside track of this new world of publishing.

For a time all they focused on was how an E-Book revolution was coming and how you, as a writer, could make your own destiny and call your own shots in writing. All this talk of self-publishing and tips on writing caused me to realize I had an inner desire to do so…and I did.

I published a host of short stories for Young Adults, and Paranormal mysteries along with a novel. Since then I’ve taken most of those writings down because I have grown as a writer and wanted to focus mainly on the Fantasy genre.

dark-moon-shadows-robert-penner

3. Your book, Dark Moon Shadows, has an interesting magic mechanic that gives rise to the title. Mind telling us more about it?

Indeed it does. Dark Moon Shadow is actually a magic that an evil wizard has unleashed upon the land of Elberoth. This Fantasy novel has a very dark element to it, but within the darkness is the spirit of courage and growth where good overcomes evil.

There is a lot of magic (unique I might add), battles and sword fights, and a little romance. I’ll have to leave it at that as I want people to enjoy the story without spoilers.

4. What do you love about your protagonist(s)?

What I love about the lead character is his growth process. Timson starts out as young man fighting against expectations and ends up embracing who he really is. He is a true success story, but not without its consequences as we will find out in the next novel.

5. What is your favorite fantasy book that you’ve read?

I have a few favorites. Who doesn’t love Lord of the Rings? I found that book to be extremely fascinating and hard to read all at the same time. My true favorite fantasy book is the Dark Glory War by Michael A. Stackpole. It is the first of the Dragon Crown Wars Series. A wonderful series by a fantastic writer. Currently, I am on a Terry Brooks kick and am reading his works.

6. What other genres do you enjoy? (TV, movies, etc)

Other than reading fantasy I love watching it. I must say it is hard to put a good fantasy on film. Game of Thrones is good, but there is not enough of the type of fantasy I like. Merlin was fun and I’m sad that it came to an end.

Legend of the Seeker started out good, but did not live up to expectations. Currently, I keep up with Grimm. I also enjoy SciFi…speaking of Revolution and the fact that it was cancelled is irritating.

7. Excellent! I love Grimm, too! What do you do for fun?

Doing my website, writing, blogging, and family occupies all my free time…and that is fun!

Thanks Kessie for returning the favor and hosting me. We Indie authors need to stick together, along with putting out good writing, in order to help each other succeed.

Well said, Robert! Thanks for participating, and happy writing!

Follow Robert’s blog
Follow Robert on Twitter
Dark Moon Shadows (available on Kindle or Nook)

One thought on “Interview with Robert Penner

Leave a Reply

