Baby pic and rambles

It’s been a pretty nice week, all told. It’s been warmish and the wind has blown a lot. I wish we’d get some rain. The desert gets so dusty when the wind has been blowing.

20140327-070002.jpg

A neighbor gave us a boxful of books and activity stuff, so the kids have been doing those for school all week. I’ve been cleaning house, potty training the 3 year old, and cooking dinner at lunch to accommodate my husband’s late shifts. It’s all pretty run of the mill, but it eats up time like mad.

Miss H who will be 5 in May is just starting to read. I feel like doing this reading curriculum is like working magic. We’re using Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Steps, and it blows my mind how easy it is. She’s just about sight reading now. She can read, actually, when she gets in the groove.

Mr. A, who just turned 7, is drilling his writing and spelling right now, since that’s his weakest area. I’ve backed off on math, because for one thing it’s too easy, and for another thing I’d rather they burn their brain cells learning new stuff. We’re also messing about making gameplay videos for YouTube. None are up yet, but we’ll get the tech working eventually.

So that’s how it’s been around here. Busy with the mundane! But that’s 99 percent of life, isn’t it?

2 thoughts on “Baby pic and rambles”

  1. I love the mundane. I love reading about you just doing life.
    S. is adorable and looks so much like A.
    Are her eyes brown or blue?
    I hope you get some rain too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

