Writing Blather Blog Hop

I don’t know if that’s really the name of this hop, but it’s an excuse to talk about what we’re writing.

I was tagged by Kat Heckenbach, and you can go read her post!

I find my own interests of consuming, well, interest, but if you’re not a writer, this will be a total snooze-fest. I mean, who wants to listen to somebody talk about their imaginary friends?

Unless you read my books and I make them into YOUR imaginary friends for a while.

Anyway! Meme questions!

1) What are you working on?

At the moment, I’m blistering my fingers to finish a book I’ve tentatively titled The Puzzle Box, but will more likely be called something like The Malevolent Soul or something. It’s about a girl who has been sick for a long time. She meets a beekeeper who farms magic bees that create magic honey that can heal her … except he may or may not be worse than a vampire, struggling to hold on to his humanity, and be working to thwart the zombie apocalypse.

Yeah, it’s a romance. 😀

I’m also rewriting Chronocrime, the second Spacetime Legacy book. At the end of Storm Chase, Indal the time mage werewolf was exiled and expected to die. Except he didn’t, which is a problem for the higher ups. Carda brings him back to sort out a nasty little problem–Carda has found his own corpse, and nobody can solve the timeline problem but Indal.

Which quickly becomes a bigger problem involving magic gangsters across several neighboring worlds who not only want our heroes dead, they’d like to take Indal’s werewolf problem apart and see how it works.

2) What makes my work different from other genre books?

Haha, this is such a loaded question. I can either say, “Well, technically, it has all the same stuff–adventure, romance, monsters, non-humans, angels, demons, vampires, werewolves, magic, and car trouble.”

Or I can say, “My works are written in such screaming passion that they’ll give you an emotional high by the time you’re finished. THEY’RE THE BEST THING EVAR!!!!!11one.”

I’m taking the same stuff everybody else is writing about (see above) and putting my own spin on it. I used to do that in my fanfiction days. When everybody else was writing “Sonic fights Robotnik lawl” I was writing “Sonic touches the source of all evil and loses his mind and has to leave so he doesn’t hurt his friends and winds up on a time travel adventure while battling to retain his sanity.”

3) Why do I write what I do?

I love adventure. One of my formative reading experiences was the Island Stallion by Walter Farley. And it wasn’t just the idea of the wonderful horses hidden in a secret canyon in the middle of an island–it was the catacombs and the ruins and the secrets on the island itself. It all combined into a story that blew my young mind.

Diana Wynne Jones showed me how to do magic in the real world. Like, Archer’s Goon is just a story about a family with real problems–his little sister is basically Ramona the Pest (and her name is Awful). But there’s also a family of mages bullying his father in more and more hilarious ways, (and they all just want his father to write 1000 words), and the more stubborn the dad is, the crazier the bullying gets. Like digging up the road in front of his house so nobody can get in and out.

I have a hard time finding books that scratch exactly the adventure/real magic itch. So I have to write what I want to read.

4) How does your writing process work?

Ah, the most boring question of all. If you must know, I write an outline. Then I write the story. Then I revise the story. Then I give it to beta readers/editors, then it gets published in some way.

Pretty dry, huh? The process itself is just as much work as swinging a hammer. But with IMAGINATION.

I’m supposed to tag three more people, but everybody’s already been tagged. How about Rachel?

2 thoughts on “Writing Blather Blog Hop

  1. Thanks for participating, Kessie! And I totally get what you say about the adventure/magic itch. I’ve been thinking about that lately and there seems to be a type of book that fits that bill and they tend to be on the edge of MG and YA.

    I’ve read some recently that you might like:

    Jinx by Sage Blackwood
    Far Far Away by Tom McNeal
    The Real Boy by Anne Ursu
    The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone by Tony Abbott (this one would be the most “adventurous” of them)

    Some days, I think I have an inner middle school boy :P.

    Like

Leave a Reply

