Wishlist Wednesday Blog hop

I’m participating in the Wishlist Wednesday blog hop from Pen to Paper!

We’re supposed to talk about a book we want to read and why we want to read it.

Man, how do I pick? I went back and forth over my Goodreads list several times before I settled on this one. Thanks to my brother for telling me about it!

Honor Harrington, by David Weber

Amazon summary:

INTRODUCING
HONOR HARRINGTON

Having made him look a fool, she’s been exiled to Basilisk Station in disgrace and set up for ruin by a superior who hates her.

Her demoralized crew blames her for their ship’s humiliating posting to an out-of-the-way picket station.

The aborigines of the system’s only habitable planet are smoking homicide-inducing hallucinogens.

Parliament isn’t sure it wants to keep the place; the major local industry is smuggling; the merchant cartels want her head; the star-conquering, so-called “Republic” of Haven is Up To Something; and Honor Harrington has a single, over-age light cruiser with an armament that doesn’t work to police the entire star system.

But the people out to get her have made one mistake. They’ve made her mad.

I think it sounds like a fun read! My brother’s going nuts over it, and I’m in the mood for some good sci-fi. The last good space opera I read was the Halo series (the best books being the ones by Nylund). I’m not widely read in science fiction by any means, and I’d like to rectify that.

(I mean, I’ve read some Heinlein and Asimov and Bradbury, but that’s like saying I like fantasy and I’ve read Lord of the Rings and Narnia.)

Also, the first Harrington book is free on ebook, so I really have no excuse to not read it. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday Blog hop

Leave a Reply

