The Countdown begins

I’m racing the clock–new baby is due this week or next, and I’m trying to get Storm Chase self published.

You’d think that self publishing would be as simple as dumping the file to Amazon and calling it good. But I’m chewing through layers of revisions, brainstorming cover art (fortunately my brother adores typography), and researching Kindle formatting. All the things a publisher would do.

It’s also like giving birth. A lot of work, but very rewarding.

Storm Chase is that dreaded Book 1, with Book 1-itis. It has to establish the world and characters and magic system and make all of the above interesting to read. I’ve rewritten it from scratch at least eight times, and rewritten large portions after that. I’m to the point where I love it and hate it.

But there comes a point when a writer has to move on, and stop redoing book 1. I’m currently writing book 4, and books 2 and 3 are crying out for revisions.

I regret not having an editor to push the story over the top. But I can’t afford one right now, and I don’t feel it’s as marketable as later books. (This is the only book without a strong romantic subplot.) There’s action and adventure and snark galore, though.

So I’ll give this a shot and see how it goes. I’m not expecting huge sales, and with the baby coming so soon, I won’t be able to market it much. But the book isn’t going away and I can gently market books for years. No Twitter and Facebook spam, though. That’s so annoying.

3 thoughts on “The Countdown begins

Leave a Reply

