A homeschooling post

School has been rolling right along this year, so I thought I ought to chronicle how we’re doing.

My mother in law bought us a big pack of A Beka curriculum. The teacher’s manuals have a lot of busywork in them, so I narrowed it down to just the subjects I knew they needed–math and reading. For first grade and kindergarten, that’s all the book work they need.

My first grader has been working through math and phonics, and his reading and spelling has really improved. He learned to sight read over a year ago, but I always felt he lacked a good phonics foundation, and now he’s getting that. He knows his math cold.

My daughter in kindergarten is also really good at math. Both of them are better at numbers than at reading, so I’m backing off on that for a while to being their reading up to speed. For her I’m using Teach Your Child To Read In 100 Easy Lessons.

That book is amaaaazing. We’re on lesson 17 and she’s reading simple words and sentences. When we started, she couldn’t read at all! She’s not as driven as her brother. Although I did catch her sounding out words in a book. 🙂

My youngest, who is 3, is content to color and learn letters. I think she’ll learn to read earlier than her sister, because she has the interest. She’s wanted to read since she was born.

So that’s been how our school is going. We also play games together (Go Fish is always a favorite) and do flash cards when I’m tired of books. We look up items of interest on YouTube and check out science books from the library. The book on Gravity was a real hit.

I’m not real stressed about academic achievement. I want them to read and write, and understand math, and tougher subjects will come as they’re ready. So many things, they’re just not ready for.

4 thoughts on “A homeschooling post

  1. A very nice post. I am so glad you are so much more kick back than I was and it sounds like you and the kids enjoy school together.
    I think it is nice you don’t have to worry that some one will call the authorities. I am very proud of you and I am very happy with how good the kids are doing. That is music to my ears.
    Have a lovely day

    Like

  2. We home schooled when I hit fifth grade because our local schools were…ugh. (This was not in Montana), went back for a year of regular school, remembered it sucked and enrolled in an alternative, self-driven Montessori type environment–except you could get your high school degree. Seems to be working out okay 😉

    I’m so curious about, but intimidated by homeschooling. Are you going to school them all the way? Just young years? How does it work for you? (Not that I need to worry yet, no kids looming on the horizon–ha!)

    Like

  3. Jess,

    I was homeschooled all the way through high school, so I’m not too worried about taking my kids all the way up. Just a matter of filling out the transcripts!

    It’s hard to explain homeschooling unless you have kids. When they’re babies, you read them stories and teach them their colors, shapes, letters and so on. That’s homeschooling. As they get older, you can get workbooks from school supply stores that are the same stuff they use in schools (more or less). As they get still older, you can invest in whatever curriculum suits your teaching style, to give them a better grounding in history, science and the like. Local homeschool groups usually have co-op classes to fill in subjects that you’re not confident teaching, like I’m not sure I could teach algebra.

    We start school at 9 AM and it takes us an hour and a half to finish. But like I said, we’re only doing a handful of subjects, and the kids are too little to sit long anyway. In high school I’d work three, four, five hours sometimes, but I was working at my own pace and I was old enough to sit.

    No peer pressure! No guns or knives! (Unless you put them in those safety classes, heh!) If you have multiple kids, no socialization problems! If you have a slow learner or a hyperactive kid, you just work with them at their speed and they don’t get labeled!

    It’s a lot of work, though, and its not for everyone, like if you and your hubby both have to work to make ends meet. But if you’re led that way, its very rewarding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

