Wonderful October!

October is my birthday month, and I’ve always liked fall from an early age.

Well, sort of. As a kid, it’s hard not to be envious of all your friends who have summer birthdays and get swim parties. But we usually arranged to go camping at the beach around my birthday, so that was even better.

This fall, we’re in Arizona. In the fall, the desert looks like this.

Monument Valley, AZ, by Bernard Gagnon via Wikimedia Commons
Monument Valley, AZ, by Bernard Gagnon via Wikimedia Commons

…which is pretty much the same in the summer, winter and spring, too. Except in the spring there’s slightly more flowers.

I can dream about this …

640px-Herbst

Or this …

Autumn by Justin.Johnsen via Wikimedia Commons
Autumn by Justin.Johnsen via Wikimedia Commons

I suppose I could drive a couple hours up to Flagstaff and take a look at their fall color.

Or I could go to the grocery store and check out the gourds and squash.

Gourds and squash, by Wildfeuer via Wikimedia Commons
Gourds and squash, by Wildfeuer via Wikimedia Commons

Their colors are so refreshing.

2 thoughts on “Wonderful October!

  1. Kim: Yes, but the desert never changes, that’s the problem. It’s just as pretty blue and green and red in midwinter as in midsummer. If I want seasons, I have to visit them. Or buy pumpkins. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

