Weird critters in Arizona

So I’ve been researching Arizona for a story I’d like to write. And there are some WEIRD critters out here!

Ever seen a Gray Fox?

Gray Fox by James Marvin Phelps, via Wikimedia Commons
Gray Fox by James Marvin Phelps, via Wikimedia Commons

Or a Ringtail Cat?

Ringtail Cat by Pixelfugue, via Wikimedia Commons
Ringtail Cat by Pixelfugue, via Wikimedia Commons

Or a Jaguarundi?

Jaguarundi by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, via Wikimedia Commons
Jaguarundi by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, via Wikimedia Commons

Or a white-nosed Coati?

White Nosed Coati by  Benjamin Keen, via Wikimedia Commons
White Nosed Coati by Benjamin Keen, via Wikimedia Commons

Or that we even have jaguars??

Jaguar by US Fish and Wildlife Service, via Wikimedia Commons
Jaguar by US Fish and Wildlife Service, via Wikimedia Commons

Not to mention the deer, pronghorns, kangaroo rats, wolves, ferrets, bighorn sheep, and even some introduced bison somewhere!

I was prowling around the mountainy areas around Flagstaff in Google Maps, and I can definitely see all those critters living up there. Some dense coniferous forest up there. There’s even some deciduous here and there, where the rivers cut through and there’s actually some water. It’s refreshing to look at cottonwoods and things. I’d love to drive up there just to look at trees. Down here in the Phoenix valley, it’s all cactus and mesquite and things.

All in the name of research!

I have yet to spot a pyrrhuloxia, though.

Pyrrhuloxia by  Snowmanradio, via Wikimedai Commons
Pyrrhuloxia by Snowmanradio, via Wikimedai Commons
2 thoughts on “Weird critters in Arizona”

  1. oooh!!! Fun!!! If I lived there I would have to get one or two of each. I could tame them I am sure. 🙂
    What neat things that I never knew about before. So glad you shared the pictures.

    Like

    1. I had to start looking things up. I had no idea what a Ringtail Cat was. Apparently they’re related to racoons, nocturnal and very shy. Settlers used to keep them as pets to kill mice, and they’d have little sleeping boxes for them where the cat would sleep all day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

