Cicadas are weird

Last night I was sitting here typing away on the computer. It was quiet. The kids were in bed and my hubby was in the other room.

Then something started knocking on the window.

It was kind of irregular, so I figured it was a bug of some kind. I went and looked outside. Nothing out there. I returned to my chair.

After a minute, the knocking resumed. I went on so long that I went and looked out the window again.

First thing I saw was our neighbor’s cat right beneath the window. Her eyes were enormous moons and her tail was lashing like crazy. She was hunting my mysterious insectoid knocker. So I started looking around at the window.

I spotted this guy. A cicada.

Cicada by William H. Majoros via Wikimedia Commons
Cicada by William H. Majoros via Wikimedia Commons

Aren’t they bizarre? Looking them up on Wikipedia (that bastion of truth) says that there’s lots of different species of cicadas. What we have out here are the desert variety, which actually “sweat” to cool themselves off. They extrude moisture and have to drink lots of tree sap.

I’ve sat out with the kids at the pool and listened to them call. They talk to each other. There’s always one cicada per tree, and one will call, then another will answer and the first one will go quiet and listen. They buzz back and forth to each other.

They also make funny clicking sounds when they fly, like an in-flight call. They were pretty upset during our last storm. The thunder would boom and the cicadas would fly around and click like agitated birds. If birds clicked.

We were making cicada jokes on Facebook.

I wondered why my ears were ringing. Then I realized it was the cicadas.

I thought there was something wrong with the lights. Then I realized it was the cicadas.

I wondered why I could hear high-tension power lines. Then I realized it was the cicadas.

I wondered which anime I’d left on in the background, then I realized it was the cicadas.

I thought the hotdogs were going crazy under the broiler. Then I realized it was the cicadas.
I thought I was in Hell. Then I realized it was the cicadas.

3 thoughts on “Cicadas are weird

    1. It was at least as big as one of those green June bugs! I thought it was a big roach until I saw the wings were clear. Also roaches don’t have red eyes, although that would make them even worse.

      Like

  1. I always associate cicadas with anime too. Especially slice of life animes, where a random character is riding their bike down the street or someting.

    (pictures vacation scene from Ouran Host Club.)

    Yup. It was the cicadas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

