Dabbling in other genres

I’ve been writing Spacetime stories for a while now, with a few fanfics tossed in here and there. Spacetime being urban fantasy, after a while it kind of feels like a rut. I’m rewriting book 3 right now–the original draft had no concept of scenes and sequels, and was really boring–and enjoying it a lot.

But I’ve had this other story chewing on the back of my consciousness. Ever since I read Diana Wynne Jone’s book Reflections, with all her essays on writing, I’ve wanted to try some of her techniques. One of them is to look at what everybody else is writing, turn it sideways ninety degrees, and write it different.

I had so much fun writing my Zombies and Unicorns story (I thought I hated zombies, until I found out how easy they are to write), that I figured I’d tackle something else I dislike. I really don’t like vampires.

So I started thinking about what might make me pick up a vampire book off the shelf. Maybe if it had a dragon on the cover. What if there was a vampire who could only bite dragons?

This simple question led to a whole slew of others–I had to come up with an “monovorous” vampire that could only feed upon one host. There had to be a reason for this dragon to be hanging out on Earth disguised as a human. There had to be some kind of opposing faction, and vampire hunters are overdone–so what if the entire military is vampire-based and all vampires are heavily monitored by the government? Oh yeah, now we’re cooking.

I’m posting up a chapter at week on Wattpad: http://www.wattpad.com/story/5930952-dragonblood-vampire

This gives me plenty of time to write other projects over the course of the week, and dabble in this fun, new genre on weekends. I’m really trying to make it action-movie, with impossible fight scenes where they punch a guy and he flies through one side of a building and out the other. Awww yeah.

Anyway, it’s fun to dabble in other genres. Kind of refreshing to the brain. I’m sure this story will eventually tie into the Spacetime universe–I know I’m already dealing with at least two parallel worlds–but in a very sidestory sort of way. No Strider of Chronos is going to bail out my vampire hero. He’s going to have to save his own neck, and possibly the necks of everyone he cares about.

6 thoughts on “Dabbling in other genres

  1. It’s excellent that you’re trying new styles and genres! Looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

    The idea of writing an original vampire story reminded me of the movie “Daybreakers”. It had everything flipped where the vampires are the majority of the world population and the human minority is hiding for obvious reasons. Whenever they hunt down humans they are careful to only tranquilize, not kill them, so they can farm them for blood (reminded me of the matrix). The blood shortage was humorously parallel to the oil issue. The main character was a hematologist who was trying to find an alternative source to blood (like trying to find alternative fuel to oil).

    The vampires also gloried in their immortality and loathed the idea of being mortal. that leads to a big twist I didn’t expect but I won’t mention it here.

    It also had brilliant cinematography. My favorite scene was where all these vampires were standing around in a subway station looking like normal people, talking on cellphones, chewing gum, etc. Then the sub passes and the light temporarily flickers and all you see is their eyes glowing. And they’ll drink all their tea and coffee spiked with blood.

    It wasn’t a perfect film in terms of flow but I thought the concept was ingenious.

    Like

    1. I heard of that movie, hadn’t watched it. It sounds really interesting–a different take on vampires. As I mentioned, I don’t like vampires, so I’m trying to twist them around until they fascinate me. I did that with Sonic stuff for years. I mean, when Metal Sonic first stepped on screen and hissed, “Sssssssonic,” I was SO hooked.

      Like

  2. Yup, it’s to the point where we can’t imagine Sonic Team without Metal now.

    I find myself wanting to subvert and rework the typical themes myself. Even in Caige which I have slowly been working on for like 10 years, I find myself re-woking entire plot twists asking myself “how can I undermine or subvert the viewer’s cliched expectations?” It came with more exposure to books, movies, etc. that I’ve seen. There are certain things I got bored with and want to play around with. Looks like this is a process for maturing creatives.

    Like

    1. See if you can find Diana Wynne Jones’s Reflections at your local library. She wrote children’s fantasy for decades (she wrote Howl’s Moving Castle), and she talks about the creative process of taking a trope and looking at it differently from everyone else. It’s wonderful for stimulating your imagination.

      Like

Leave a Reply

