Early morning thoughts

It’s five thirty and the sun is on its way. Outside the doves are cooing, the mockingbirds are singing, and every so often I hear the cheerful water drop notes from a quail. There are houses with acreage behind our apartments, so I can hear roosters crowing, too. The street noise is starting to surge as the day begins.

I lie here in bed with my iPod and count my blessings. We have a nice place to live. We had a quiet, relaxing day yesterday.

There are people in my life right now who only communicate with ridicule and put downs. I’ve never experienced this for so long before, and it’s made me cling to Jesus like a life raft. But what do I do when they mock my children? I’m afraid I’ll have to put my foot down, gaslighting or no.

These thoughts trouble me on this pretty, peaceful morning. I think it’s time for some prayer.

4 thoughts on “Early morning thoughts

  1. I will be praying for you and for peace and for the wisdom to do what you must. I am glad you had a nice day yesterday. God is in control of all things. Cast all your care on Him because He cares for you.

    Like

  2. Ugh. I’m so sorry you have to deal with that. I was hoping it wouldn’t be that way. Just remember that the trials make us stronger – in ourselves and in our walk. I have found there are two options when my children are attacked: Either vehemently fight back and keep them away from the offenders, or teach them to be strong, that what they are being told is wrong, and that you and Ryan and God love them so deeply and that is what they need to worry about it. They will need to learn how to deal with ridicule eventually, since it happens a lot in the “real world”.

    The choice of action depends on the situation. *hugs*

    Like

  3. You guys have been a constant item on my prayer list… I think I’ll add those people in your life to that list as well. God has your back. And if you ever need someone to vent to, you know I’m here to listen. =)

    God bless your family, Kessie!

    Like

  4. *HUG*

    I can’t help but wonder what the mockery is for… Ah, I’m being nosey.
    Either way, if words are being said to devalue, I hope they fall on the ground like the refuse they are. The words I mean… and that God makes them better people with better things to do with their time and energy.

    Taz

    Like

Leave a Reply

