Guest post: Where are the male protagonists?

I was invited to write a guest post for New Author Fellowship, so I wrote, Where are the Male Protagonists?

What’s on the cover of men’s magazines? Hot women.

What’s on the cover of women’s magazines? Hot women.

Who are the protagonists of most YA novels? Hot teen women.

Am I the only one seeing a pattern here?

I’ve been churning out YA urban fantasy books with male protagonists, because I like male protagonists. More on that later. They say to read the sort of thing you’re writing, so I’ve been trying to find YA urban fantasy with male protagonists.

…then I had to broaden my search to YA fantasy with male protagonists.

…then it was YA with male protagonists.

Read more here!

Leave a Reply

