The Next Big Thing

This is a writer’s meme I first saw on Mike Duran’s site. Then Kat Heckenbach unofficially tagged me, so here I go!

1) What is the title of your next book/work?

Currently it’s Storm Chase. I’ve been brainstorming titles for it, and I keep coming back to that one. Because the hero’s last name is Chase and he’s dealing with a Storm … yeah.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book/work?

My husband has been writing this same story over and over since high school. It’s changed significantly with every iteration. Finally, a few years ago, I said, “I’m going to write this for you, and then we’ll be DONE and MOVE ON.”

The basic premise has stayed the same. My husband’s character Carda gains magic powers and has to save the world from the Subspace Storm. But we’ve changed what the Storm is and how it starts, who the villains are, the identities of the secondary characters and all their subplots.

3) What genre does your book/work fall under?

Young Adult Urban Fantasy. I’ve spent a lot of time figuring that out.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

This is a stupidly fun question. Unfortunately, Carda has always looked like my husband. I can’t find any actors who look like him. And I suppose Xironi looks like me.

From Carrolls All Year

Carda’s sister Michelle would look like Alyson Hannigan, if her hair was pulled back in a braid all the time.

Indal is totally Matthew Lewis.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Well, the current one is, “Carda’s newfound space and time magic helps him battles a college rival, but trying to clean up the mess lands Carda on the wrong side of magical law as a world-eating storm closes in on Earth.”

Which is condensed down from, “Carda’s life was fine until the day he wrecked his car. Or didn’t wreck his car. Now fire and lightning erupt from his hands whenever he gets mad, a cute catgirl is making him clean up his messes, and a jerk from school is tearing holes in reality. Trying to stop him lands Carda on the wrong side of magical law, forcing Carda to go on the run, even as a chained angelus destroys worlds across
the multiverse, closing in on Earth.”

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m still bouncing around, trying to figure that out. I might query a couple of small presses I know and see what happens. I’ve seen other people start small press to get their feet wet, then move on to Big Publishers. I think I need all the training I can get, and I’m willing to get it anywhere I can. I don’t want to self-publish until I can confidently edit my own work.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

Three or four months is my usual turnaround for a draft. Less than that if I know exactly where the story’s going and I’m really jazzed about it. Nanowrimo revealed to me that I can churn out a whole draft in one month, but it’s very rough.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Oh, sort of like Hounded, by Kevin Hearne. Takes place in Arizona, has a guy with powers. My heroes don’t deal with gods, though. Just one angry imprisoned dark angel bent on destroying the multiverse.

Also kind of like Rift Jump, by Greg Mitchell, in that it deals with jumping around to other worlds. Not quite as much in this book as in later books, though.

And it’s also kind of like the Subtle Knife, although they don’t jump to other worlds in Storm Chase nearly as often as I’d like. The later books deal with that a lot more.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

As stated earlier, I was sick of my husband rewriting it and took matters into my own hands. But the universe grew (and grew and grew) in the telling. I’ve written four complete stories and three partials. Some will never see the light of day due to continuity problems, while others are hopefuls for publication. I love this world and these characters, and I hope someday other readers will enjoy them, too.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

It’s action-packed.

The hero will make you laugh.

People manipulating time and space with magic will intrigue you. Especially once the bad guys get rolling.

A werewolf who is actually two physical bodies spliced together in two separate spatial planes.

Love. Courage. Sacrifice.

The importance of a man’s car.

Death elementals.

You know, SKILLS. /NapoleonDynamite

Tagged people: Rachel Blackmon, M.R. Anglin, Jess Owen, Rebecca Minor, Aaron DeMott. Now you guys talk about your upcoming books!

6 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. This was a lot of fun to read. It’s so much fun talking about your books. XD I didn’t realize how much Ryan was involved in the stories. It’s a bit different for me since I only took one tiny thing from my hubby.

    I like who you picked for Michelle. I’ll use that if I attempt to draw her. That particular picture, however, kind of looks like Lindsey Lohan… it really threw me off when I first saw it. o_o

    Like

Leave a Reply

