Mermaids = vampires

Well, it’s starting to look like mermaids are the new vampires.

http://www.sellingbooks.com/are-mermaids-the-new-vampires/

http://io9.com/5936503/young-adult-fictions-hottest-new-trend-mermaids

Even Stephanie Meyer is getting in on it, allegedly. (I’ll bet her writing has improved.) And really, when you think about it, mermaids and vampires are similar.

  • Dangerous beings of a different world with the capacity to care about their victims.
  • If you become one, you can join them in their world.
  • They tend to eat their victims in one way or another.
  • They have politics humans know nothing about.
  • Half the time there is sex.

Mermaids can go off on pollution and hating humanity for fouling up the oceans, though, which makes me leery of them. I hate environmental preaching because no solution is ever offered aside from “kill all humans”. Vampires at least want to keep us around as a food source. :-p

I have to admit to being curious. That one horrible mermaid book excepted, I haven’t actually read any books about mermaids. I don’t know how they’re being handled, but I’m willing to give it a shot and see if I like it. IO9 says that only girls are interested in mermaids because, let’s face it, The Little Mermaid wasn’t exactly guy-oriented.

The only way I can think of to make mermaids fun for guys is to make it like Jaws. Or more like the fourth Pirates of the Caribbean. (Note the sex corollary up there.)

So, what do you think? Are mermaids the new vampires?

3 thoughts on “Mermaids = vampires

  1. I could totally see mermaids taking off for a while. I’ve always thought they were a fascinating mythos. And yes, I think the similarities to vampires play into their popularity. Beautiful monsters. Vulnerable on land, powerful where we are weak. Great stuff for stories.

    Although mermaid books will likely attract primarily female readers, I can think of one example where guys were totally into the mermaid story: the comic book series “Fathom” ( “http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fathom_(comics) ). I wonder how that happened? (ha!)

    Like

  2. Oh man, not sure what to think about this. I love mermaids. This could be good, but then everyone will be writing it, then it will be dumped by the way side. Not sure how my writing would fit it into this. By the time I get a book published, they’ll be something new everyone is chasing after. Slow and steady. đŸ™‚

    Like

  3. The only mermaid book I’ve read so far was a MG called The Tail of Emily Windsnap. It was a sweet story I passed on to my 9-yo after I read it,

    It’s spawned (ha!) a series of sequels, which always make me nervous till I’ve read a few, so I’m sure I understand the author’s style/message. We have #2 on-hold at the library though, so we are pressing on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

