Random Wednesday post

We’ve just been doing school quietly all month. The munchkins have a love-hate relationship with school. They love everything except math. Although even math is fun when the mathbook includes codes you have to do math problems to decipher.

The munchkins having a tea party with play food.

That play table has seen a ton of use. It’s a prime place to build legos, or draw, or play, or put pillows around and make into a fort.

Everybody reading books!

My husband’s mom sent a bunch of Curious George phonics books, and the munchkins have been looking at them over and over. Curious George is always a crowd-pleaser.

A heck of a sunset we had the other night.

Over on YA Highway’s Road Trip Wednesday, they had a great prompt:

In honor of this month’s Bookmobile book, Marissa Meyer’s CINDER, name a fable or story you’d like to see a retelling of. If you’re feeling creative, come up with a premise of your own!

I recently picked up our Grimm’s fairytale book and started reading through it. The very first one is The Golden Bird. I just loved it. It’s all about the prohibitions–don’t go to sleep under the tree. Don’t put the golden bird in the golden cage, but in the wooden one. Don’t put the gold saddle on the horse. Don’t let the princess say goodbye to her parents. All of these prohibitions are delivered by a talking fox to the youngest prince, who nevertheless manages to botch it most of the time.

I just love fairytale prohibition stories. I always wonder, why? Does the wooden cage and the old saddle represent humility in the face of grandeur? What was wrong with that dang princess? Why couldn’t all of these castles (who were in riding distance of each other) swapped around their own dang golden items?

I’ve been tossing around an idea for a middle-grade series. I know who the characters are, I just wasn’t sure what kinds of adventures they should have. I was thinking I’d like to mess with fairies, then I started looking at other books. Fairies are waaaay overdone right now. But fairytales with talking foxes and golden horses? Not quite so much! Especially not with the spin I’d give it.

So yeah. Fairytales are awesome to rip off–I mean retell. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Random Wednesday post

  1. I think that is a great idea. I love the picture of the kids playing and reading books. They just look so content. Oh well now begins your battle with math. For the rest of your teaching days. I won’t mention people I know who used to hide math books. 😉
    It looks great!

    Like

  2. Heh, my kids hate *everything* but writing! And only then they like it because they slip in a drawing of some random thing every now and then rather than an actual letter.

    Like

  3. Oooh, Cinder! Loved that book!

    I’ve thought about the fairy tale retelling thing. Not sure which one I’d choose, though. I would totally want to twist it the way Cinder did, though.

    And yeah, my kids don’t dig math much either. Not getting that at all–I used to teach math and my husband is an engineer. We are steeped in math-loving genes, but apparently didn’t pass them on :P.

    Like

  4. Fairytale re-writes are fun! I once started a fairytale re-telling a while back, but never finished it. I would love to finish it at some point, but it’s more of a side project thing right now so it’ll have to wait. The story I wanted to re-tell is Hans Christian Anderson’s “The Travelling Companion.”

    Like

  5. My first college creative writing class had us write a story that was representational of a Grimm’s Fairy Tale. I wrote one about the Hedgehog and the Apple. Though the characters represent Matt and his sentient pet apple (named Fred) the typical fairytale moral was there – don’t disobey direct orders from authority or you will end up hurting only yourself.

    My teacher wrote on the top of my page “The Brothers Grimm would be proud.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

