My love list

Today I’m participating in the YA Highway Road Trip: My WIP Love List! It’s from a nice lady named Stephanie Perkins, who said this:

Whenever I begin a new project, I also begin a list called “What I Love About This Story.” I start by writing down those first ideas that sparked the fires of my mind, and then I add more ideas to it as I discover them during my push through early drafts.

It’s a fantastic idea. It’s also so much fun to visit all these people’s blogs and see if the things they love about their work are things that I love, too. It’d be great if lists like this appeared on the backs of books, because then we’d know if we wanted to read those things.

Here’s my list for my current Spacetime story:

Fast cars
Throwing fireballs around
An Indiana Jones whip made of lightning
Werewolf angst
Deathwalkers
The chained blackwing angelus
Brother and sister relationship, mostly friendly
The cute catgirl with the overprotective grandfather
Other worlds
The wrong side of the law
Doing the right thing and being punished for it
Secret pact with Dad
Heroes who look at the facts and draw the wrong conclusions

Gosh, it makes me excited just writing it down. I want to go write some more!

It occurred to me that I can write a similar love list about my life in general. So here it is:

The laughter of children
My son’s dawning realization that he can both read and do math
My daughter writing her name for the first time
My husband’s smile
Brownies
A fresh, cool morning
Gorgeous, puffy tropical clouds
Approaching fall
Pumpkins
Dinner simmering in the crockpot
Long pants
Getting to wear my fingerless gloves again
Walks to the park

Some of those are still in the future, but it’s nice to look forward to them. September is next week!

5 thoughts on “My love list”

  1. Things I was intrigued by:
    An Indiana Jones whip made of lightning (oddly, my son’s playlist has come on, and it includes the Indiana Jones Theme)
    The wrong side of the law
    Heroes who look at the facts and draw the wrong conclusions (this touches on something I am going through with my own protagonist.)

    Love the stuff about your kids and husband and fall. All things I love too.

    Like

  2. I love the Indiana Jones whip! Intrigued…

    And I further love that you made a list for your life right now, too…and I fully agree on the pumpkins and the coming change in seasons! Yay!

    Like

  3. I loved both lists but I was especially taken with your “life” list. We have many things in common. Your children look very sweet. I’ve got a boy and a girl, too, and even though they never stop talking, they are the light of my life. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

