First day of school

Today was our first day of homeschooling, and it went great. I forgot how tired my brain gets, though. Since I forgot to take pictures, here’s some pictures of a few weeks ago.

Sidewalk art by the oldest munchkin.

We started off with Bible time. We have a zillion childrens’ Bibles, so I tried out a new one this morning. It has awesome pictures. Then we did some math, and swapped over to our reading comprehension (Beatrix Potter with questions afterward). Then Munchkin 1 got to sit and draw for a bit while I drilled letters with Munchkin 2. She does best just singing the alphabet song.

Youngest munchkin watering the plants.

Then Munchkin 1 and I reviewed all of his vocabulary words we collected this summer, and I declared us finished for the day. It was about an hour and a half of non-stop work. I know if I was doing a real kindergarten, we’d break out the gluesticks and glitter. But I don’t have that much stamina.

A kitten was discovered. Three of them, actually.

This morning I wanted to make something special to have for a snack. So I tried to make blueberry muffins with my stored-up cherries. They came out kind of goopy. I declared them turnovers.

They tasted wonderful and we’ve devoured nearly all of them. I might have to make another batch tomorrow.

So that was our first day of school! Thank goodness for naptime. 🙂

3 thoughts on “First day of school

  1. So glad it was a good day. Meg had posted so I was waiting for you to post too. Yes, even now I get tired in my brain from the first day of school and it wasn’t nearly as brain draining as yours. I am glad it turned out to be a nice day.

    Like

  2. Doh! Totally forgot math! Well, we’ll just count the “you can have one more marshmallow, then the bag goes back in the pantry” as math for today. Sounds like you had fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

