Book review: Reality’s Dawn

I won this book in a giveaway a few weeks ago, and just got done reading it. It’s about this kid Sisko, about 14, who goes into his village’s enchanted steam house. This steam house turns people into more of what they are inside. So nice people come out handsome and strong, and jerks come out turned into donkeys, or trees.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=000000&IS2=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0000FF&t=thedomainofne-20&o=1&p=8&l=as4&m=amazon&f=ifr&ref=ss_til&asins=B004QGYHS0

Sisko comes out with a mysterious ring that won’t come off his finger. It lets him do healing miracles, as long as he asks God first. The only caveat is that he can’t use the power to benefit himself or he’ll fall under a curse instead.

So Sisko goes on a years-long journey to help whoever God wants him to help, aided by his friend Josh the wizard, and Seth, a leader of a gang of bandits. Sisko defeats dragons, breaks up cults, casts out demons, and raises the dead … and deals with the fallout afterward.

It’s a nice light read. Each chapter is its own self-contained short story, kind of like the old Beverly Cleary or Keith Robertson books. Each chapter is a short adventure inside the book’s main story arc. The good guys are nice people who wrestle with believable problems like pride, fear and selfishness. There’s a couple of bad guys every chapter, but the reason they’re bad is usually the main conflict.

The writing style was passable, but not the greatest. But this is one of the author’s very first books, so I’m willing to let a lot slide under the “first book” umbrella. It’s a nice book you’re in the market for a light read, and don’t mind a light smattering of religious discussion (I don’t think it ever falls into outright preaching, because the character’s not trying to convert anybody, just heal them).

4 thoughts on “Book review: Reality’s Dawn

  1. Huh, interesting. What was the biggest thing about the book that made it stand out as a ‘first book?’

    And, if I may, I actually had a question slightly related to this sort of thing.

    I have a couple of friends who do book reading and discussions with me. However, book choices for future conversations has been a little rough, considering I would like us to discuss topics and plots that aren’t overly-known(popular books, rather). I threw out the idea of having everyone read through a book from a relatively new author(free e-book or not), then each of us write a review. As an author myself, I think it’d be awesome for that author to suddenly have five or so reviews pop up. It’d make _my_ day, that’s for sure.

    So, to get to the point, I know you have some experience with books like this, so would you happen to have any suggestions? Too many free books have glaring content problems, so I’d rather dive into something I know is at least clean enough(if not poorly written…).

    Like

  2. First book problems: telling instead of showing. Skipping over important scenes. Telling, telling, telling, and not enough showing. I notice authors get better at showing as they improve, so I’m willing to put up with it.

    If you’re in the market for Christian speculative fiction from indie publishers (they range 3-5 bucks for the ebook), let me give you the list.

    I’m currently reading Lucas: Guardian of Truth

    She just published it and it has no reviews. It’s like Ben Ten meets The Green Lantern, only less cheese. It’s middle grade (read: juvie fiction) and I’m very entertained so far.

    This guy’s two books are free this weekend. I haven’t read them yet, but hey, free:

    THE POISON OF THORNS: The Dragon’s Back #1
    Genre: Christian Fantasy, Spiritual Warfare ~ Rated 4.2 out of 5 stars
    ASIN: B004BA54TC
    http://tinyurl.com/ThePoisonOfThorns

    THE PLAYERS: Earth – The Arena #1
    Genre: Sci-Fi, Spiritual Warfare ~ Rated: 4.8 out of 5 stars
    ASIN: B006HGY782
    http://tinyurl.com/EarthTheArena1-ebk

    I enjoyed these books (which are novellas, so they’re short and sweet)

    The Windrider Saga, Book I: Divine Summons

    This one has a girl protagonist, not sure how a bunch of guys would feel reading it (it’s not overly romancy, just … it’s a girl protagonist.)

    Finding Angel

    This one is trippy and weird

    I Am Ocilla

    This is fairytale-ish stuff, and I hear her later books are even better than this one. Naturally our library doesn’t carry book 2.

    Heartless (Tales of Goldstone Wood)

    If you want more, go here and browse their library: http://www.speculativefaith.com/

    Like

  3. Wow, that’s quite an extensive list. Thank you!

    You know, that first book is an excellent suggestion. I know about M.R. Anglin from Tazia Hall’s work, and I also know she’s put a lot of time into it. Didn’t even know it was out already! I’d love to read it, and I will definitely run that by everyone.

    Funnily enough, three out of the four in the group are female. I wouldn’t bat an eye at a book having a female main character, though. Characters are characters, and I really don’t care if the lead is a female, so long as it’s written well.

    There were a few books on the SpeculativeFaith website I actually recognized. I will most certainly go back to it(and this list) if I need help choosing a book.

    Thank you, again!

    Like

  4. First of all, thanks for including my novel in this list :). And a couple others I recognize–good choices in The Windrider Saga and I Am Ocilla. I’ll have to check out the others!

    Also, I’ve read Reality’s Dawn. I was really surprised by RD after reading Rick’s short stories. The writing is SO different. What I realized, though, is that the writing in this is intentional. It’s technically a fairy tale, and that is one reason for the telling. It’s not a style for everyone, but I did want to point that out. When I realized that, I was able to shift my perspective on it and was able to get into the groove of the story.

    Anyway, as a new author, it’s awesome seeing readers reviewing and interested in reading new authors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

