Modern fantasy

I was pondering why I like modern fantasy. I’ve been reading reviews of various fantasy novels popular right now (like George R.R. Martin’s stuff). Although I see the appeal of elves, dwarves and men, that doesn’t get me excited like modern fantasy does.

Then I tried to think of some modern fantasy books that I liked. A lot of juvenile fiction is set in modern times, like Harry Potter, or the Wednesday Tales, or Fablehaven (which I want to read but have not yet grabbed). The Dresden books are modern fantasy, too, so I know it exists in the adult market.

Then I started thinking about the stuff I’ve written for eight years.

Notice how a lot of my Sonic art is city-themed? As in, modern settings with cartoon characters?

Yeah. I’ve also always had a weakness for superhero movies, and as a rule those are modern fantasy.

So yeah. I’m still writing modern fantasy. I’m off to hang out with my imaginary friends now. šŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Modern fantasy

  1. Superheroes are SF šŸ˜›
    I think traditional fantasy feels a bit detached since most of the time there’s no connection to reality. That’s why I liked The Hobbit, Conan/Kull and the Joust series so much: the premise suggests that the setting was our world at one time. Same with Lovecraft or Jules Verne–most of the settings in their stories were modern at the time they were written.

    Like

    1. I maintain that superheroes are fantasy after watching my hubby play DC Universe. They’re flinging around magic and stealing souls and summoning demons, as well as flying, using gadgets and all that other superhero stuff. Maybe the proper term is “speculative fiction”, which is the new term for fantasy/sci-fi?

      I’m with you on fantasy that’s connected to our world, though. Makes it a little easier to identify with. Same with all those stories about a person in our world stepping into a new world, like Harry Potter or that silly Alacatraz vs. the Librarians series.

      Like

  2. I like it too, and I think it has to do with the connection. The reader isn’t just reading about another world, but actually experiences either the act of transporting to another world or discovering it exists all around us. We get to feel like, Hey, this could actually happen to *me*. šŸ˜€

    Like

    1. It’s that delicious realization that this dull urban world of buildings and streets isn’t all there is. There may still be dragons and monsters out there, unseen. šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Some of my best friends have been the ‘imaginary’ ones. I hope I never outgrow that habit. We all have our inner voices and sometimes it’s good to listen to them. My muses take good care of me, most of the time.

    Meh. The line between fantasy and science fiction is a blurry one. Just like the line between quantum physics and magic. And the line between science fiction and history. With the passing of time, what was once viewed as impossbile becomes more possible and so forth. What was once science fiction becomes history. People living even a hundred years ago might be stunned by some the everyday taken-for-granted things that we have in society now. And people a hundred years from now might look back on our civilization with the same kind of regard. “Oh my gosh,” those futuristic people will say to each other, “You mean they actually had to drive their own cars? On the ground? Really? Yuck! How did our primitive ancestors ever survive?!”

    Happy New Years, by the way!
    Unless you’re Chinese and then it’s only 20 or so days before the awesome lunar dragon hatches! Yay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

