Dragon modeling and thoughts

Worked on this guy a little tonight. I had gotten a lot farther, then Painter inexplicably crashed and I had to start over. I’m back to obsessively ‘ctrl-s’ing again.

I read this funny little article called Don’t Be Afraid to Fail Aggressively. They’re taking writing advice from Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, namely, his statement about, “I would rather fail being aggressive than being passive.”

The blogger goes on to talk about how they took that as a motto and went and wrote something completely outside the box, namely, Mallory Caine, Zombie-At-Law. (I don’t do zombies, myself, but the concept of a zombie lawyer cracks me up.) And it took some courage to write and publish such an oddball thing!

For some reason, that dredged up this quote from Ratatouille in my head (the Pixar movie about the rat who cooks).

You must be imaginative, strong-hearted. You must try things that may not work, and you must not let anyone define your limits because of where you come from. Your only limit is your soul. What I say is true – anyone can cook (write, paint)… but only the fearless can be great.

This is on my mind as I’m mashing the first Spacetime story through the garlic press that is the second draft. I’m not seeing anything remotely like it out there, either on the bestseller lists or on the new books lists.

But if I’m going to fail, I want to fail aggressively.

One thought on “Dragon modeling and thoughts

  1. Hrm. You’ve done so well at capturing the fading pinkish twilight. The body of the dragon is a stark contrast but the inner portions of his wings seem to almost blend in… Interesting…

    Thanks for the link to the book. I’m almost sure that I’ve seen such a thing as a zombie lawyers before but probably only in manga and not as the title character, either.

    Hope that your own writing continues to please you, Net-san. It sounds as if you’ve absorbed a lot of good advice. thanks for sharing the links. Many people are afraid of failure, in any form. But in a pursuit as personal as writing, expecially… Giving yourself permission to risk failure, aggressively or otherwise, that’s probably not as easy as it sounds. I admire your courage. That must be a liberating thing for the imagination.

    Like

Leave a Reply

