Random sketches

Just some random sketches for tonight. I feel like I’m in creative limbo, wanting to write one thing and wanting to edit something else.

Also, my current story doesn’t have enough oomph. I have to ask some more questions about it to myself. I mean, with Jake and Revi, the finale was always a big cross-world battle against the bad guy. But with this one, eh … the ending isn’t dragging me along in excitement. Right now it’s just a political conflict between some dragons ending in war. Yawn.

I want something BIG and STRANGE and ELECTRIFYING at the end of this story. I’m just not sure what yet. My original idea was lich-drakes, and then World of Warcraft’s Wrath of the Lich King expansion came out, and they did lich-drakes. Heck, they had a whole game zone dedicated to them.

What kind of weirdness can I get up to in a world of dragons? I don’t really want to do the Migard serpent, because that’s been done. I guess I kind of thought the Machine would be the Big Bad. Then I met him, and he’s more like Marvin the depressed robot from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Not quite world-threatening, and very amusing for the other characters to interact with, really.

Pondering …

One thought on “Random sketches

  1. I was going to post half a dozen suggestions to try and help you brainstorm but then I saw that you already had come up with something so… Nevermind. Congrats on working through the tangles that were keeping you from being satisified with your story. And thanks for sharing the random sketches.

    Like

Leave a Reply

