Racing centaur

I guess the Secretariat movie really got my brain back into race horse gear. I grew up reading (and rereading and rereading) the Black Stallion series, so I have all this race horse stuff waaaay deep in the subliminal parts of my brain.

So here’s a pre-race centaur, wearing his silks and having a mug of coffee or tea.

So now I have this itch to come up with a fantasy version with racing centaurs. They’d run horse-style races, and have the speed ones and the jumping ones and all those different horse-type events, but the centaurs themselves would be more like athletes. They’d do commercials and fish for sponsors and be all about the exercise and the diets and the vitamins (and there’d be drug and steroid scandals).

Except they’re, you know, centaurs.

And now I want to draw a centaur at a farrier, getting his shoes done, while he reads a newspaper. XD

Referred to this horse tutorial for reference.

4 thoughts on “Racing centaur

  1. Hey that is a total crack up. I like your imagination. I would have never thought of that in a million years. You should write a story like that. We have vampires, werewolves, and stuff like that I have never read about a centaur. I would have loved to have been one of those when I was a kid.

    Like

  2. That’s hilarious. I’ve heard that horse jockeys put a terrible strain on their own bodies to lose as much weight as possible, while the horse is supposed to be the peak of fitness and muscle. Does this mean the centaur-jockey (jocktaur?) has to strike a balance between weight and muscle? I’d love to read a short story about your idea.

    Like

  3. Will: I’m thinking it’s more like football players and stuff, where they’re all about fitness and the condition of their bodies. I’m currently formulating a story around this. I’d really like to do some kind of a mystery, like one of the centaurs gets murdered or something, and the heroes have to investigate. (I’m thinking centaurs co-exist with humans, and the humans are like the trainers and grooms and all that stuff, so each centaur has this whole human team supporting him.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

