Rockses

Been tinkering with rocks and the palette knife tool.

My reasoning was that since the palette knife works great for rocks in real life, why not in digital paint? And it does look pretty good.

I tried to follow the technique of “laying tile”, where you paint a stroke, then paint a stroke next to that, and so on, rather than going over the same spot over and over. It seems to work really well for rocks.

Works pretty well for water, too.

It made the foamy splashes on the wave kind of square, but the foam on the edge in the foreground looks really good. Not all is with the palette knife, though. Some is with the oil pastels, my standby.

And here’s the whole thing:

I realized that I had committed the cardinal sin of putting the horizon smack in the center. So I cropped it to bring it higher than center, since most of the interest is below it.

Details, details!

3 thoughts on “Rockses

  1. Moving the horizon line does add to the percepotion of distance and bring the focus down. The waves and rockses look ever more wonderful but I’m still in awe of the clouds.

    Please may I know – amatuer question of the day – if you have a piece of art that is larger than your scanner, how do you scan it?

    Like

    1. If I have art that’s too big, usually I scan it in sections, then piece it all together in Photoshop. But I’m painting these digitally with a tablet anyway, so no scanner involved. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

