Water practice

On this one art blog I read, the artist talked about a technique called hard on top, soft on bottom.

Part 1 of this
Part 2 of this

Notice in part 2 that he uses this technique to make some really fantastic-looking water. I’ve recently tackled clouds and had some satisfactory results, so I figure that now’s a good time to tackle water.

Here’s my first attempt at hard on top, soft on bottom:

There’s a host of problems with this, mainly because I haven’t a clue what I’m doing. I started at the top and worked down, instantly finding that digital paint and a stylus is not the same as watercolor and a brush. Pixels don’t want to smear and fade out. I finally found that Just Add Water under the Blender tools works pretty well.

So then I tried all my favorite brushes for the hard line–oil pastels, Wet Oils, Gouache–everything was too hard, or made too soft of curves. Water doesn’t do soft curves. It does sharp, pointy little waves.

Down near the bottom, you can see where I was starting to get a handle on it. I was doing my waves too close together. I’m really going to have to study the structure of water if I’m going to do this right. I think yet another beach painting is in order!

One thought on “Water practice

  1. …mountain ranges in fog…. But that’s true, digital media probably doesn’t smear or fade like real paint. I salute your patience and look forward to another beach painting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

