Reading dragons

I was trying to figure out if I had borrowed a book from my mom, or if I had it on my bookcase. I was peering at my bookcase, pretty sure that I didn’t have it, when this phrase crossed my mind:

“Dragons may not have much real use for all their wealth, but they know it to an ounce as a rule, especially after long possession; and Smaug was no exception.” – The Hobbit

And I’m exactly the same way with books! I know them all, and if one goes missing, I notice at once.

Which led to an amusing attempt to draw a dragon that hordes books.

Attempt 1: a dragon kind of tumbled half-off a bookcase, reading and almost laying on its head:

Kind of awkward, but amusing.

Attempt 2: Just a more general pose.

Nice, but boring.

Attempt 3: A snakey dragon all wound around stacks of books.

Eh, still not quite what I had in mind.

I’m not the only person to draw similar things, though.

Valamadarace by Kerembeyit

Sphinx’s Day Off by Sandara

The glorious art achieved by people who can spend hours and hours on a painting. Sigh.

One thought on “Reading dragons

  1. Hey, nice sketches though. Even your ‘nice but boring’ one in the middle – add an interesting title to the book in those claws and it would be just as amusing as the first and last. Uhm. Hording books seems like it would be a bit of a hazard for a firebreathing critter… *imagines a poor, sad little dragon who has accidentally just sneezed and burned his entire collection to the ground* …but it could be make for an interesting if somewhat hapless character. Though of course, there are such things as non-firebreathing dragons. And there is also such a thing as literature that is not easily flammable. Whether or not a dragon would horde stone tablets, I don’t know.

    Anyway. Hope that you found your missing book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

