More character sketches

I’ve been trying to write a bit lately, and when I need to think about characters, one of the best ways for me to do that is to draw them. Drawing takes a while, and I get to contemplate things while I do it.

Anyway, I have to be in a certain frame of mind to write Michelle and Indal (the werewolf), so this sketch was an attempt to get into the right frame of mind. (Doomed romance is tricky to write.)

Here they sit, on the hood of Indal’s Mercedes, discussing their future. Although technically Indal would have to be in human form to discuss anything, since I’ve made a point in the story that he can’t talk when he’s the wolf. This is artistic license.

I doubt I’ll color this pic, because the front of that Mercedes is a pain to draw, and Indal’s legs don’t look right. He’s supposed to be leaning back, but because we’re looking at him head on, a lot of foreshortening comes into play, and I’m not sure I’ve got it right.

Ah well, tis but a sketch.

2 thoughts on “More character sketches

  1. *nods* Tis amazing how helpful it can be for the writer, to pause and sketch either characters or scenes from the story once in a while. Nice work and if it allowed you to better capture the mood in writing, it served its purpose as well.

    Hrm. Maybe this is part of why I’m kinda phobic of adding depth and detail to some of my sketchs… I tend to do that sort of filling in with the writing more often. Gotta practice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

