Airbrush space, part 2

Welcome back to my attempt to airbrush space instead of auto-generating it!

I went back and took a look at my gas clouds, and decided that they were too busy. I’ve also been staring at space art, and it finally dawned on me that the black areas are just as important as the lit areas.

So I erased big black chunks, and went over those with the Chunky Oil Pastel to make them even blacker. Then I added in a few bright stars. Bright stars are always kept to a minimum in really good space art. They overwhelm a sky really quickly.

Whole sky:

I decided that putting a yellow glow over blue moons was a bad idea, so I just went with a nice blue glow instead. I think the whole sky is still a little too bright, but I’m much happier with it than I was before.

Previous post in this series: Airbrush Space part 1

Leave a Reply

