Shunosaurus: half painted

Background reference:

As you can see, I have most of the dinosaur’s color blocked in and I’m toying with his shading. I don’t have a proper dappling on him yet, because I needed some idea of where the light was falling through the leaves.

I have three layers of bamboo sticks and three layers of leaves: dark, middle, and light for each. It really gives the forest some depth, but boy it makes my compy chug. Poor old compy. I save about every five minutes in case of (not unknown) crashes.

Anyway, don’t you love the way the light comes down at an angle through the leaves?

Work done so far:
Shunosaurus value study
Shunosaurus sketch

2 thoughts on “Shunosaurus: half painted

  1. It looks really pretty and I like how you have really captured the forest. I also like the shadows look, Dad was looking over my shoulder and he said he thought it was really awesome too.

    Like

  2. Hi! Thanks for dropping by my blog and commenting. I have thought of water solubile oils. Is there a brand that you would recommend?

    You mentioned having less time to paint. Two thoughts- enjoy the little ones while they’re small. My first baby, that little preemie we worried so about, is looking at colleges. The time has flown by so quickly! I’m in shock daily. I guess God gave me a late in life baby to ease that feeling as the others are getting to be SO big.

    When my older two were toddlers and #3 was an infant I hired a pre-teen who wasn’t old enough to babysit on her own to come in a few hours, twice a week. I was there at all times, but she played with my older ones, read to them, and took them on walks on our farm. She didn’t make much per hour since I was there and she didn’t have too much responsibility. She learned to be a sitter and I had time to do my own things while the baby slept. The girl grew up to be one of the best babysitters on the planet and I kept my sanity. We couldn’t really afford it at the time, but we also couldn’t afford for me not to. 🙂

    Have a great week! Patrice

    Like

Leave a Reply

