Reference is a wonderful thing

Continuing the commission from my previous post of the elf chick. My commissioner preferred sketch #1, so I started work on it.

And realized that I simply cannot draw good humanoids without reference.

A while back, I found a good archive of stock human photos on DA, because I knew I would need it at such a time as this. I dug around in there, and presto, found a reference!

Now she looks much more natural and less like a posed doll. Also she’s gained a bit o’ weight, so I think I’ll have to slim her back down. Elves aren’t supposed to look robust and healthy, they’re more on the anorexic side. Must be the vegetarian diet.

2 thoughts on “Reference is a wonderful thing

Leave a Reply

