Hydrangea challenge

I just discovered the blog Inspiration All Around Us. They post art challenges every two weeks, and you can paint whatever the challenge is and submit it.

When I popped in and discovered the site, it was because another lady artist I watch had done a painting for the challenge.

Here’s the photo we’re supposed to paint:

Here’s the monstrosity I cobbled together this evening.

I was trying to capture the colors as I see them, and also suggest the shape of the blooms without actually drawing every last petal. It needs quite a bit more work, but I’m pleased with the way it’s going. Kind of fun doing an art challenge of something I don’t usually draw, like an annoyingly complex compound flower. 🙂

Leave a Reply

