Navi self-portrait

I just saw Avatar on video. I still don’t know if I liked it or not. It felt like more of an art movie than anything–lots and lots of pretty art and weird stuff. Like looking at one of those books of concept art for Myst.

Anyway, I wondered what I might look like all CG-d up as a navi, like I’m sure half the internet has already done. So I figured, might as well give it a shot! It’ll be a fun exercise. 🙂

Here’s the photo I took of myself. Gah, I look so tired. That’s going away when the airbrush comes out.

And splash on 45 minute’s worth of airbrushing and liberal use of the Hue slider:

Yay, I’m a blue-skinned catgirl!

I haven’t painted in Photoshop in a long time, especially not ancient Photoshop 6. I miss the wonderful blend tools of Painter, but I managed to bend Photoshop to my will pretty well.

Here’s my reference pic:

4 thoughts on “Navi self-portrait

  1. Destro: Yeah, I look really dorky in my photo. I can’t ever seem to take pictures of myself looking not-dorky.

    Farmgirl: I figured you’d get a kick out of it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hmm, the nose looks a little too “large” for me. This picture’s nose seems closer to an actual cat’s in terms of the angle, (it all faces toward you) while the Navi’s seem to angle toward the ground. Other than that, this is a pretty kick-bottom portrait!

    Like

Leave a Reply

