Second dragon pic, meh

I’ve been trying to sketch up a good pic of Temeraire, but I haven’t come up with a look that I really like yet. Here’s what I’ve come up with:

commission-temeraire-sketch

As you can see, it’s kind of stiff. I hate formal compositions. And Temeraire’s pose is just … meh. I should really just go with what’s in my mind’s eye, but then it would be a pic of Lawrence with Temeraire in the background, and that’s not what my client requested.

I do like the idea of having a pagoda and Lien, the antagonist dragon of the series, in the background. She’s white, and it’s funny to have the good guy be a black dragon while the bad guy is a white dragon. Kind of messes with the archtypes.

But anyway, yeah, I have some ideas, but I just don’t like the way Temeraire’s coming.

Leave a Reply

